.

Letter to the Editor: Dave Thompson Supports Bellows for Mayor

Dave Thompson: "I support Mayor Bellows because he has the right vision for those of us who make our home in Lakeville."

To the editor,

I am writing this letter in support of Lakeville Mayor Mark Bellows for re-election. His public service record, impeccable credentials, and commitment to fiscal prudence make him by far the best choice.

Mayor Mark Bellows has a distinguished public service record. He has served as police chaplain for 22 years. He served ten years on the City Council before being elected Mayor in 2010. He is a pastor and counselor as well. These activities all demonstrate the Mayor’s commitment to individuals in need and to public service. He is well qualified for the job, as he has demonstrated over the last two years.

But of course credentials and passion are not the most important characteristics for a leader. I support Mayor Bellows because he has the right vision for those of us who make our home in Lakeville. Our residents are looking for public servants who understand the need to restrain spending and regulation, and keep taxes low. That is why the other two candidates for Mayor are portraying themselves as fiscal conservatives. Let me give you two examples that demonstrate the Mayor’s care for the taxpayer and dedication to good government.

The City’s Capital Investment Plan recently included a recommendation to buy $3.5 million in land to be used for municipal liquor expansion.  Mayor Bellows believed that a cost-benefit analysis should be done to determine whether such an expansion was wise.  The evaluation was done, and it was determined that Lakeville had slightly more liquor store square footage than could be justified by the population.   Therefore, such an expansion was premature and could cut into profitability.  Critics of the Mayor have attempted to use this series of events to portray him as “anti-municipal liquor.”   Of course the Mayor’s position on this issue was prudent, and in no way reflected a bias against municipal liquor.  It was obviously better to spend a relatively small amount of money to make a good decision, than to commit millions of dollars to a project that should not be done at all.  As former presidential candidate Ross Perot likes to say, “Measure twice, cut once.”

Second, the City had an opportunity to contract out its electrical inspection services to the private sector.  Finance Director Dennis Feller said that such a move could save the taxpayers up to $90,000 over two years.  The Mayor strongly supported this change.  Only Councilman Matt Little voted against it.  Why would anyone vote against it?  Perhaps that question is easily answered if you look at the sources of Mr. Little’s campaign contributions.

Mayor Bellows has always done what he believes is right for our City.  His twelve-year record is clear.  Please vote for Mark Bellows on November 6th.

Dave Thompson, State Senator, Lakeville

Harvey Simpson October 29, 2012 at 07:14 PM
I wonder if Senator Thompson realizes that in four years when Senator Thompson is up for election again Matt Little will be running against him.
Brian Ferrell October 29, 2012 at 07:42 PM
Senator Thompson, I agree with you on Mayor Bellows. He is fiscally conservative and it is very apparent that he truly cares for the Lakeville Community and its people as a whole. Look at what he does outside of being our Mayor. Police Chaplin, Family Counselor, Pastor.....this is a committed individual serving people.
jessewicks October 29, 2012 at 09:16 PM
I agree Harvey... And an endorsement from Senator Thompson is just one more reason we need to push Bellows out of our City. Remember, extremist Dave Thompson is one of tea-pubicans who championed the marriage amendment and photo ID amendment when none of our citizens were asking for it. Both of the ballot initatives he sponsored are anti-people and that's no different than how Bellows tends to treat his fellow council members.
Harvey Simpson October 30, 2012 at 02:40 AM
Jesse, polls are showing the majority are in favor of the ID and marriage amendment is close, but will probably not pass. Bellows has treated everybody on the council professionally except little because little doesnt understand RESPECT. Quit spewing false and inaccurate information-you've been doing it non-stop.
Billy October 30, 2012 at 02:44 AM
Jesse, majority are in favor of the voter ID. It gives free govt issued ID's to those eligible to work. You and Your democratic buddies who love Little, our bleeding heart liberal, should love this because it is another freebie for you
Billy October 30, 2012 at 02:45 AM
Dave Thompson voted against the Vikings Stadium...that's why he isn't getting my vote
jessewicks October 30, 2012 at 03:55 AM
Harvey, Again please review the city's video site, Bellows normally goes after both Matt Little and Laurie Rieb anytime they go against him. He has that arrogant attitude. When Laurie brings up the order of how votes should be handled in the future (because Bellows keeps getting it wrong), he just ignores her comments and refuses to acknowledge her. And when Matt Little just asks to speak on a motion, Bellows ignores him as well until a fellow council member comes to Little's aid. So Harvey, the videos don't lie, but it appears you are!!!
jessewicks October 30, 2012 at 04:45 AM
Billy, Wake the "Hel_" up. Thompson is a control freak who is attempting to make it tougher for seniors to vote. And think about it, "Free Govt Issued ID's" is a pile of crap. We the tax payers are going to have to spend millions for the administration of this program. And according to Fox News, voter fraud only made up less than one-tenth of 1 percent of all registered voters. And now its a national movement? What the he_l Billy! Why do you think that representatives on both sides of the isle are opposed to it??? I know that former Republican Gov. Arne Carlson recently ripped members of his own party last Tuesday night for backing the voter ID constitutional amendment. Carlson says that it sets up barricades to citizens exercising their constitutional right to vote. He went on to say "How dare any legislative body, Democrat or Republican, put on the ballot a constitutional amendment that it itself doesn't fully understand, that is not the result of a study and not identifying the true problem it is designed to resolve, and it can't look voters in the face and tell them how it's going to work," he said. Former governor Carlson has teamed up with former Democratic Vice President Walter Mondale to lead opposition to the amendment.
Billy October 30, 2012 at 11:16 AM
Sorry, I don't watch Fox News. Just like your stories they over exaggerate what happens.
Matt F October 30, 2012 at 01:27 PM
Jesse - It is time that you learn on your own, not what Fox News, MSNBC, Twitter and Facebook tell you. We live in a world that requires ID's. Going to the airport requires an ID, getting a library card requires an ID. Going to the bank requires an ID. Driving a car requires an ID. Cashing your Social Security check requires an ID. Going to the hospital sometimes requires an ID. Signing up for our Senior Center Membership requires an ID. Becoming a member or going as a guest to Life Time Fitness requires an ID. Using a credit card for a major purchase requires an ID. Buying liquor requires an ID. Getting a season pass at Buck Hill requires an ID. I could go on and on and you would see this too if you left your house or your parents house. Voter ID laws are not tougher on seniors to vote because they already need an ID to live in today's society. And if they don't have one, the gov't will give them one. The majority of the voting population in MN supports Voter ID laws.
Matt F October 30, 2012 at 01:35 PM
I've spoken with Laurie R personally when she came to my door about Matt Little and Mark Bellows and the rest of the candidates running for city council. Jesse - Matt Little can tell you what to write but people see the same garbage that Little's camp is posting - attacking the integrity of Bellows. Bellows has a 12 year record on city council. One doesn't last 12 years if they aren't doing good things for the city.
jessewicks October 31, 2012 at 04:10 AM
Billy, It's apparent you don't watch much of anything. No wonder you have your head in the sand and don't have a clue what is really going on. If you don't think the forced ballot vote that the GOP is attempting to ram-rod here isn't going to cost us tax payers millions to administrate the program, we'll then you sir, are a complete and senseless idiot!!! You think you understand this better than Carlson, Perpich, and Dayton??? And keep in mind, we dont have 'any' voter fraud in Minnesota.... it doesn't exist!!! Your right to vote has been under attack nationwide. Now is the time to fight back and get ready to vote. Nearly every state legislature is up for election and critical ballot measures in states across the country will make a big difference in people's daily lives. As we've seen over the past year, legislators nationwide have waged a state-based assault on people's fundamental rights. Electing legislators who share your values will ensure that your state protects - rather than assaults - your civil liberties. So wake the he_l up Billy!
Billy October 31, 2012 at 11:24 AM
Jesse, your story keeps changing. First you said seniors would struggle to vote and I refuted this. You now have resorted to calling me an idiot which is a personal attack and eliminates your credibility and no longer worth my time. God Bless you Jesse. I hope you find stability in your life.
Matt F October 31, 2012 at 01:10 PM
Jesse...Calling people idiots because you don't agree with their opinions is pathetic. Carlson, perpich and dayton can have their own opinions as well. I don't think you can say we don't have any voter fraud. You honestly do not know. You don't watch every polling precinct all day long. Stop with the personal attacks and grow up.
Charlie Gerk October 31, 2012 at 01:37 PM
Actually Minnesota leads the nation in voter fraud convictions, that is a fact look it up. http://lmgtfy.com/?q=who+leads+the+nation+in+voter+fraud+convictions%3F
jessewicks October 31, 2012 at 07:10 PM
Hello Matt... Throw a stick into a pack of yelping dogs and the one that gets hit, yelps the loudest! Thats you. Any yes, being an election judge in the past, I've made it my business to know how little vote fraud exists. The GOP only did this to eliminate same day voter registration which limits the peoples ability to vote. When less people vote, the GOP tends to prevail. Don't think thats true? Well look at the fact that it's only the GOP that is proposing this in every state that its on the ballot. So again... wake the he_l up!!!
Harvey Simpson October 31, 2012 at 07:25 PM
Jesse, I think it is safe to assume that you are a bleeding heart liberal and listen to anything and everything MSNBC tells you. Do you find it concerning that we live in a liberal leaning state but the majority of the population is supporting the Voter ID amendment. Our liberal newspapers that conduct these polls are even showing stronger support for the Voter ID amendement. You routine tell people on these comment boards to wake the Hel! up but I think it is time your YOU to wake up and realize your views are of the minority on this topic and you should stand down and go update your facebook page with more Obama photos.
reallyguy November 01, 2012 at 01:11 AM
Take a look at all of the candidates for city office financial reports. http://www.scribd.com/LocalTransparency

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something